Acts Chapter 11, Origin of Christian

October 9, 2008 at 6:08 pm (Uncategorized)

Two big sections to Acts 11.

It seems like the first part is a tiff between different factions in the church…not so much. Here God is done awesome stuff by bringing Cornelius’ family in to a relationship with him and some folks are crying because they aren’t Jewish. This is a really crucial moment in history, right here you know God was moving in the this movement that was called “The Way.” These Jewish centered folks weren’t being arguementative to Peter because they were a bunch of jerks, but they really were working from what they knew to be the best response. The awesome part is they were willing to listen to Peter, who they felt was listening to God and were willing to work together.

From that you get the second part of the chapter. This is the church at Antioch. I won’t say a lot about it, but it was here that folks started getting called Christians and there is a reason for it.

Leave a comment folks!

1 Comment

  1. Slade said,

    Ha I had to comment because Jonathan said comment FOLKS and it reminded me of Mr. Dees. I just finished reading and the thing that stood out to me the most was Peter’s vision. I wonder if I were to have a vision like that if I would actually believe it happend or just decide I was going a little crazy. I often deal with the same thought when God simply is trying to tell me something. Is it all in my mind or is this what God really wants me to do? However, since I’ve started reading the bibe a little more Gods will has become much clearer. I also noticed how God had to repeat his will three times to Peter. Ha I guess I’m not the only one. The rest of the passage seemed to be history stuff that I’m having a hard time figuring out how to apply. Any ideas anyone??

Leave a Reply

